Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

1:52 a.m. - 2018-12-19
Ignorance is bliss
Earlier today I was talking to my brother in law and telling him about the apocalypse, re-revolution, and the need for his daughters(my nieces) to be fighters and always be alert to fend for themselves out there. His reactions was the most astonishing thing to me coming from a dad, like wtf.
He said :” no , they don’t need to fight. I don’t want them to be fighters, I don’t even want them to be book-smart.”

Huh ?
Like wth

Why not. His rationale was that nothing will ever happen and that I shouldn’t be wanting war or any upheaval. But I tried to explain to him that things on this earth are cyclical and revolution or natural disasters are bound to happen and we need to always be alert and prepared for the worst, specially women.
Sigh
He did not get me where u was coming from at all
His thing is that if his daughters are “booksmart” they will overthink things and stress about things that are over their heads ... like what??
Haha the crazy thing is that he’s such a nice guy overall but when it comes to anything to do of this world or our current reality he just completely closes off his world to anything new outside of himself. He’s like an ostrich when being approached by danger who sticks their head in the ground to not see thinking if they don’t see anything then nothing is wrong.

As a former victim of assault and abuse, I know the reality of things and the necessity for women to be prepared and aware of the dangers out there. Ignoring our problems or choosing to not believe in them is not going to make them disappear.

Hmm
I just stood up from the table and left him there because I knew there was no reasoning with him. He’s a nice guy who is also homophobic, racist and bigoted. Lol dang ! It’s a fucken oxymoron to say someone like that is “nice” but unfortunately there’s so many ppl out there like that and I’m the end more then being evil or ignorant I believe the correct word is stupid. It’s sheer stupidity and insanity to choose to willingly blind yourself to the reality of this world rather then prepare and work hart towards survival.

“Ignorance is bliss “ I guess hah!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!